Expectations

Honestly, it’s been frustrating and embarrassing to be chunky on a raw food diet. I got the glow, but where’s the bod? I lost a few pounds in the beginning, but have fought fat ever since.

Every raw foodist I meet seems slender and balanced. When is it my turn? I’ve gotten advice: Less fruit, avoid dry fruit, do more colemas, eat less fat, eat smaller meals, don’t snack, drink more water, don’t use salt, your body will equalize after a few years, don’t eat after dark, exercise 3x a week!

What the hell? More rules? Sounds similar to the rigamaroll I had to abide by on my cooked food regime. Even though they advised me, those celery stalk gorgeous raw foodies reported a phenomenol carte blanche – they could eat as they wanted and still maintain their ideal weight. Energy levels would suffer if their taste was rich, but the weight was rarely affected.

After 3 1/2 years, I have surrendered. Raw Food does NOT equal Skinny – at least not for me.

This realization is actually a huge relief.  I am unique!  My body has its own rules and conditions it desires to thrive.  With this acceptance of myself, I can stop feeling flawed.  I can be body led, mindful of what I eat, and not think I am impervious to calories and fat.  I can admit I am human and do indeed benefit from regular exercise.

To date, I have never had more fun with raw foods, exercise, or my beautiful bod.

It is this realization that inspired my 92 day juice feast.  The ceremony for a new relationship with food and myself.

4 Responses to “Expectations”

  1. rawmom Says:

    I just wanted to say thanks for being so honest. I am planning a juice feast next month. I like how you accept yourself. I know for me I could not stick to raw if I stayed at this weight. For me raw is about health but also about weight. I am vain that way. I love your attitude.

  2. Alla Says:

    I, too am a chunky girl and I am in love with a fitness professional. I feel ya! Still, it is good to give your body the best available resources and tools to build itself from. thank you for the blog. Everyone is helping me stay on track.

  3. sara Says:

    hello- came upon this through angela’s site…thanks for being honest about the ’embarrassment’ part.i am over in burbank and started today by getting celery-beet-carrot-greens juiced in front of me at Robek’s- and as they made it i felt like a fraud ordering fresh juice since i weigh almost 300 lbs… but tonight, just day one of my fast, i feel better. thanks for the inspiration…i’ll be checking in! sara

  4. restore75 Says:

    So glad I read your blog, in the same boat and feeling better about myself already! Keep on keeping on! Yours was the first I read, don’t really know what juice feast is, I guess I will read more to find out. Yes more rules, you know without rules we all run crazy.

Leave a comment